People in Brief


— Dierks Bentley says there won’t be any hard feelings if childhood friend Miranda Lambert takes home the Grammy Award for best country album next week.

Bentley and Lambert are both nominated in the category. Lambert won a Grammy in 2010, but Bentley is still waiting for his first win.

The singers toured together and collaborated on music early in their careers, and Bentley says his feelings toward Lambert haven’t changed over the years.

He says that if Lambert’s name is called on Feb. 8, he’ll be one of the first to stand up and applaud her.

Bentley says, “A win for her is a win for everyone.”

NEW YORK — The Grateful Dead is coming back to life for final concerts in July.

The band announced recently that surviving members Mickey Hart, Bill Kreutzmann, Phil Lesh and Bob Weir will perform three shows from July 3-5 at Soldier Field in Chicago.

The band is celebrating its 50th anniversary, and the shows will mark its final performances, the band said. They last performed at the Chicago venue in 1995 with band member Jerry Garcia, who died a month after the show.

Tickets for “Fare Thee Well: Celebrating 50 Years of Grateful Dead” is be available through a mail order system. They go on sale online Feb. 14.

NEW YORK — The black cast members of the hit series “Orange Is the New Black” will be honored by Essence magazine at its pre-Oscars luncheon later this month.

The magazine announced recently that it will honor seven cast members including Uzo Aduba and Laverne Cox at its Black Women in Hollywood Luncheon on Feb. 19.

“Essence is honored to bestow the Black Women in Hollywood Vanguard Award to these talented actresses, whose brilliant performances exemplify diversity in storytelling,” Essence Editor-in-Chief Vanessa K. De Luca said in a statement. “Their groundbreaking portrayals are bringing an authentic and rarely seen narrative to the forefront of America’s consciousness.”

It is the first time the Black Women in Hollywood Award will be given to a group instead of a single person. It will also be awarded to Adrienne Moore, Danielle Brooks, Lorraine Toussaint, Samira Wiley and Vicky Jeudy of the award-winning Netflix series.

Associated Press