Drew Cisco was named the Class AAAA player of the year by the South Carolina Baseball Coaches Association.

Other Class AAAA selections include Chris Hanna, Stratford; and Robbie Dodds and Connor Bright of Wando.

Trae Sellers of Stall is the only local player to make the Class AAA team.

Local players named to the Class AA team include Bryce Hines and Hunter Bessinger, Hanahan; Alex Abrams and Jimmy Lindberg, Bishop-England, and Cody Craig and Brian Welch, Timberland.

All-state softball

The South Carolina Softball Coaches' Association announced its all-state teams and the Lowcounty is well represented.

Shamae Warrenj of Cross is the only local player to earn a spot on the Class A team.

Local players named to the Class AA team include Paige Deschaine, Ashley Ridge; Angela Boyd, Bishop England; Aubrey Rabun, Ashley Ridge and Lauren Eastwood, Hanahan.

Local players selected to the Class AAA all-state team include Jessica Shoch, Bluffton; Logan Cox; Georgetown; Alexia Cortez, Battery Creek: and Summer Lawson, Bluffton.

Local players named to the Class AAAA team include Erin Schattle, Stratford; Ashley Muckelvaney, Summerville; Shannon Mason, Goose Creek; Malori Meyers, Summerville; Katelyn Rush, Stratford and Leea Polin, Fort Dorchester.

Local players selected to play in the June 15 North-South games include Schattle, Ashley Metts, Berkeley; Tori Gross, Wando, Muckelvaney, Summerville; Schoch; Bluffton and Katie Seabrook, Hanahan.

Region 7-AAAA tennis

The Region 7-AAAA tennis team has been released.

Robert McManus, Thomas Kuisel and Drew Dangerfield of Region 7-AAAA champ Wando head up the team.

Stratford's selections include Steven Roys, Jacob Luther while Berkeley's picks are Zac Dye and Bradley Harrison.

James Island's Brian Gottshalk rounds out the team.

The coach of the year is Berkeley's Charles Sweeney.

Reach Philip M. Bowman at pbowman@postandcourier.com or at 937-5592.