State law doesn't require police officers to be state certified to run radar. A list of Lowcountry police departments and their requirements:

Berkeley County Sheriff's Office: Certification required.

Charleston County Sheriff's Office: Required.

Charleston Police Department: Required.

Colleton County Sheriff: Required; allowed to write warnings before certification.

Cottageville Police: Not required; training included in field training.

Dorchester County Sheriff's Office: Required.

Goose Creek Police: Required.

Hanahan Police: Not required; included in field training.

Harleyville Police: Not required; included in field training.

Sign up for our new business newsletter

We're starting a weekly newsletter about the business stories that are shaping Charleston and South Carolina. Get ahead with us - it's free.

Mount Pleasant Police: Not required; officer must show proficiency after four-hour familiarization class.

North Charleston Police: Required.

Ridgeville Police: Required.

S.C. Highway Patrol: Required.

Summerville Police: Did not return calls.