Co-op members can get $30 credit at annual meet

Berkeley Electric Cooperative will host its annual meeting Saturday at Exchange Park Fairgrounds in Ladson.

Berkeley Electric Cooperative members who attend Saturday’s annual meeting and register to vote for trustees will earn a $30 credit on their electric bill.

The Moncks Corner-based, not-for-profit utility is required to assemble a quorum each year to elect trustees, report on company affairs and address any other business.

About 20,000 members are expected to attend the gathering from 8 a.m. to 2 p.m. at Exchange Park Fairgrounds in Ladson.

Three trustees running for re-election are former Berkeley County Sheriff Wayne DeWitt of Goose Creek, Willis Sanders of Summerville and John Barry Hart of Johns Island. Only Hart is facing opposition, from Henry Chavis of Johns Island.

Special guest and speaker is Mary McClaury, chief operating officer of Touchstone Energy Cooperatives, which represents a nationwide alliance of 750 local, consumer-owned electric cooperatives in 46 states.

Several groups will perform, including Haut Gap Middle School Steel Drum Band, Berkeley Middle School Chorus, Cane Bay High Ladies Choir and Gracious Day. Other events will include an antique car show, health fair and petting zoo.

We're starting a weekly newsletter about the business stories that are shaping Charleston and South Carolina. Get ahead with us - it's free.

Berkeley Electric serves more than 91,000 members in Berkeley, Charleston and Dorchester counties. It said its annual meeting is the largest among electric co-ops in the U.S.

Reach Warren L. Wise at (843) 937-5524 or