You are the owner of this article.
You have permission to edit this article.
Edit
top story

These Charleston area restaurants are equipped with patio heaters for safer outdoor dining

Heaters double as table bases at Melfi's

Heaters double as table bases at Melfi's. Hanna Raskin/Staff

Restaurant patio heaters are so scarce in Charleston that even Google has trouble finding them. Prompted to come up with a list of winterized dining areas, the search engine produces approximately half a page of hits before suggesting dinner in Seattle.

Unlike restaurant owners in traditionally cold places, restaurateurs here have little incentive to spend thousands of dollars on effective and legal outdoor heating systems.

And by the time Lowcountry temperatures dipped into the less-than-comfortable range, patio heaters were in short supply. A San Diego restaurant owner who this month was finally forced to confront 40-degree evenings discovered the equipment was backordered through March, according to an NBC affiliate’s report.

“Never knew heaters would be such a big topic of discussion,” Charleston area restaurant publicist Kerry Welch admitted this week.

But with lows forecast to remain at or below 50 degrees until Dec. 11, heaters are suddenly on everyone’s lips. They’re just not on every local restaurant patio.

Here’s where you can dine in electrified warmth (although sometimes only by reservation, so it’s always wise to call ahead or consult the restaurant’s website before heading out):

CHARLESTON

82 Queen, 82 Queen St., 843-723-7591, 82queen.com

Baker & Brewer, 94 Stuart St., 843-297-8233, bakerandbrewer.com

Barbadoes Room, 115 Meeting St., 843-577-2400, millshouse.com

Basic Kitchen, 82 Wentworth St., 843-789-4568, basickitchen.com

Bistro a Vin, 40 Archdale St., 843-974-4441, bistroavin.com

Bistronomy by Nico, 64 Spring St., 843-410-6221

Circa 1886, 149 Wentworth St., 843-853-7828, circa1886.com

Cru Café, 18 Pinckney St., 843-534-2434, crucafe.com

Delaney Oyster House, 115 Calhoun St., 843-594-0099, delaneyoysterhouse.com

Edmund’s Oast, 1081 Morrison Drive, 843-727-1145, edmundsoast.com

**Winner of a Dr. Leon Banov Banner of Distinction for COVID safety**

Estadio, 122 Spring St., 843-793-1029, estadio-chs.com

Fleet Landing, 186 Concord St., 843-722-8100, fleetlanding.net

Frannie and the Fox, 181 Church St., 843-414-1673, hotelemeline.com

Le Farfalle, 15 Beaufain St., 843-212-0920, lefarfallecharleston.com

Halls Chophouse, 434 King St., 843-727-0090, hallschophouse.com

Husk, 76 Queen St., 843-577-2500, huskrestaurant.com

Lewis Barbecue, 464 N. Nassau St., 843-805-9500, lewisbarbecue.com

Melfi’s, 721 King St., 843-513-0307, eatatmelfis.com

Muse Restaurant, 82 Society St., 843-577-1102, charlestonmuse.com

Peninsula Grill, 112 N. Market St., 843-723-0700, peninsulagrill.com

Pink Cactus, 100A Spring St., 843-764-9343, pinkcactuschs.com

The Thoroughbred Club, 205 Meeting St., 843-722-4900, belmond.com

Wild Common, 103 Spring St., 843-817-7311, wildcommoncharleston.com

Xiao Bao Biscuit, 224 Rutledge Ave., no phone, xiaobaobiscuit.com

We publish our free Food & Dining newsletter every Wednesday at 10 a.m. to keep you informed on everything happening in the Charleston culinary scene. Sign up today!


Zero George, 0 George St., 843-817-7900, zerogeorge.com

FOLLY BEACH

Loggerhead's Beach Grill, 123 W. Ashley Ave., 843-588-2365, loggerheadsbg.com 

Lowlife Bar, 106 E. Hudson Ave., 843-633-0460, lowlifebar.com

**Winner of a Dr. Leon Banov Banner of Distinction for COVID safety**

Rita's Seaside Grille, 2 Center St., 843-588-2525, ritasseasidegrille.com

JAMES ISLAND

Bowens Island Restaurant, 1870 Bowens Island Rd., 843-795-2757, bowensisland.com

Jalisco Taqueria & Tequila, 1271 Folly Rd., 843-638-8844, jalisco-chs.com 

Kwei Fei, 1977 Maybank Highway, 843-225-0094, kweifei.com

Maybank Public House, 1970 Maybank Hwy., 843-203-6461, maybankpublichouse.com

KIAWAH ISLAND

Cantina 76, 219 Farm Lake View, 843-737-4607, cantina76.com

FortyEight, 547 Freshfields Dr., 843-768-2245, fortyeightwinebar.com

Fuji Sushi Bar & Grill, 205 Farm Lake View, 843-996-4898, fujicharleston.com

Hege’s Restaurant, 275 Gardeners Cir., 843-768-0035, hegesrestaurantsc.com

King Street Grille, 679 Freshfields Dr., 843-768-5444, thekingstreetgrille.com

La Tela Pizzeria, 133 Village Green Ln., 843-768-1951, latelapizzeria.com

MOUNT PLEASANT

Coleman Public House, 427 W. Coleman Blvd., 843-416-8833, colemanpublichouse.com

NICO, 201 Coleman Blvd., 843-352-7969, nicoshemcreek.com

**Winner of a Dr. Leon Banov Banner of Distinction for COVID safety**

Page’s Okra Grill, 302 Coleman Blvd., 843-881-3333, pagesokragrill.com

Post House, 101 Pitt St., 843-203-7678, theposthouseinn.com

NORTH CHARLESTON

843 Korean BBQ & Sushi House, 6601 Rivers Ave., 843-764-9578, 843koreanbbq.co

**Winner of a Dr. Leon Banov Banner of Distinction for COVID safety**

Dashi, 1262 Remount Rd., 843-867-3555, dashichs.com

SUMMERVILLE

Carolina Ale House, 191 Sigma Dr., 843-471-1970, carolinaalehouse.com

Low Country Fish Camp, 903 Central Ave., 843-285-8558, lowcountryfishcamp.com

Oscar’s of Summerville, 207 W. 5th North St., 843-871-3800, oscarsofsummerville.com

This Little Piggy, 100 Central Ave., 843-594-3108, thislittlepiggy.com

Know of a heated restaurant patio that’s not on this list? Shoot an email to hraskin@postandcourier.com.

Reach Hanna Raskin at 843-937-5560 and follow her on Twitter @hannaraskin.

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.

Topics

Breaking News

Columbia Breaking News

Greenville Breaking News

Myrtle Beach Breaking News

Aiken Breaking News