Skip to main content
You are the owner of this article.
You have permission to edit this article.
top story

Berkeley County wrestlers win 8 classes in Parker Invitational

Kevon Rivera

Kevon Rivera of Hanahan High School won the 220-pound weight class in the Skip Parker Invitational on Jan. 8 at Fort Dorchester High School.

The Skip Parker Invitational tournament presented area grapplers with a chance to test themselves in a bracket format at Fort Dorchester High School on Jan. 8.

Wrestlers vied for titles in 14 weight classes while also earning points for their respective teams.

Hanahan was the team winner, compiling 147 points to edge runner-up Socastee by 5½ points. The host team placed third with 123 points, followed by Bishop England and Cross to round out the top five.

The tournament honors former Fort Dorchester coach Skip Parker, who lost a long battle with cancer in the summer of 2020 not long before his 50th birthday. Parker was also a former wrestler and football player at Summerville.

Parker served in the U.S. Marine Corps and volunteered time to several causes including Toys for Tots and Community Clean Up.

Wrestlers from the Berkeley County School District found the top of the podium in eight weight classes.

Cross led the BCSD in individual winners: Cameron White (145), Antwain Hoskins (152) and Amonte McCray (285).

Hanahan and Berkeley won a pair of weight classes. Gavin Qualls (132) and Kevon Rivera (220) rose to the challenge for the Hawks. Luke Gadsden (182) and Storm Judy (195) captured crowns for Berkeley.

Philip Simmons’ Dustin McDonnell finished first at 120.

The Hawks also snagged five runner-up finishes.

Team scores

Hanahan 147, Socastee 141.5, Fort Dorchester 123, Bishop England 103.5, Cross 92, Philip Simmons 86, South Florence 63.5, Berkeley 54.

Individual (Top 3)

106 – Richard Springs (FD), Carson Port (S), Alex Watson (PS).

113 – Nathan Gates (FD), Alex Weslanski (H), Jimmy Chambers (PS).

120 – Dustin McDonnell (PS), Wilson Dotter (H), Caleb Wilson (FD).

126 – Camren Knapper (S), Sam Cherichello (BE), Jacob March (C).

132 – Gavin Qualls (H), Holden Teufel (BE), AJ McClanahan (PS).

138 – Edwin Barros (S), Joshua Shomate (SF), Cayman MacIver (BE).

145 – Cameron White (C), Ethan Jones (H), Conner Maxwell (S).

152 – Antwain Hoskins (C), Dixon Hardy (BE), Frederic Brown (FD).

160 – Omari Taylor (S), Thomas Curl (BE), Jeremiah Mitchell (SF).

170 – Arber Lekanki (S), Sloan Casteel (H), Isaac Schimpf (PS).

182 – Luke Gadsden (B), Trokel Prew (SF), Will Denard (H).

195 – Storm Judy (B), Jonathon Tumbri (H), Zane Prioleau (FD).

220 – Kevon Rivera (H), Jaylen Morris (FD), Cole Prieditisch (BE).

285 – Amonte McCray (C), Landon Whitlock (FD), Brandon Arronis (B).