Cobras roll into third round


Cane Bay wrestlers celebrate after a teammate wins a match.

The Cane Bay Cobras wrestling team handled the first day of the Class AAAA playoffs with relative ease on Saturday.

The Cobras had four pins and a major decision en route to a 58-18 victory over St. James in the second round of the playoffs. The Cobras had a bye in the first round.

Cane Bay improved to 21-3.

“This time of the year, you just hope your kids are wrestling at their best,” CBHS coach Tim Wash said. “We’re wrestling well. We had some extra guys in the lineup today. Hopefully they’re going to help us down the line.”

The Cobras travel to Lugoff-Elgin High School on Monday for a third-round matchup. Wash previously coached at Lugoff-Elgin for 10 years, guiding it to three titles and four runner-up finishes before leaving in 2000.

Lugoff-Elgin is ranked No. 3 in Class AAAA and Cane Bay is No. 5.

“We’re excited for this opportunity,” Wash said. “People know I was there. It’s exciting for me to have a chance to go back there. Maybe if we get some luck we’ve got a chance. They’ve got a really good team, maybe one of the best teams they’ve had in a couple years. We’ve seen them in some tournaments and they’ve been winning week in and week out.”

On Saturday, Devon Anthony (120), Jacob D’Ambrosio (138), Sam Spinda (160) and Caine Hartnett (182) earned wins by fall. Nathan Threatt (145) recorded a win by major decision.

Hartnett’s pin gave the Cobras a 34-18 lead and St. James forfeited the final four weight classes. The Sharks didn’t have a man in two of them so Hartnett's pin mathematically locked it up.

113- Blake Wygant (St James) over Hunter Gardner (Cane Bay) (Fall 1:25)

120- Devon Anthony (Cane Bay) over Billy Goodyear (St James)(Fall 5:01)

126- Ralph Inge (Cane Bay) over Adam Biamonte (St James) (Dec 7-5)

132- Franklin Cloer (St James) over Ashton Westbury (Cane Bay) (Fall 0:52)

138- Jacob D'Ambrosio (Cane Bay) over Seth School (St James) (Fall 3:25)

145- Nathan Threatt (Cane Bay) over Uriel Mauricio (St James) (Maj Dec 12-3)

152- Spencer Wall(Cane Bay) over Brandon Ellis (St James) (Dec 3-2)

160- Sam Spinda (Cane Bay) over John Sipos (St James) (Fall 1:13)

170- William Stewart(St James) over Mason Brown (Cane Bay) (Fall 1:48)

182- Caine Hartnett (Cane Bay) over Dante Woodard (St James) (Fall 4:43)

195- Chase Smith (Cane Bay) over (St James) (Forfeit)

220- Chris Myers (Cane Bay) over (St James) (Forfeit)

285- Nick Harper (Cane Bay) over (St James) (Forfeit)

106- Domenic D'Antico (Cane Bay) over (St James) (Forfeit)