Voters can expect new faces in Charleston County School Board races

Photo illustration by Gill Guerry/Staff

Charleston County voters can expect some new faces on the school board this fall with several members not seeking re-election.

Of the incumbents, Craig Ascue, Chris Fraser and Elizabeth Moffly are giving up their seats, leaving only board Chairwoman Cindy Bohn Coats and Tripp Wiles seeking another term. This will be the first campaign for Wiles, who was appointed by the Charleston County legislative delegation last year to fill a vacancy on the board.

Coats, who represents North Charleston, is opposed by Shante Ellis and Kelvin D. Curtis. Two candidates, Edward C. Fennell and Eric L. Mack, are competing for the same seat to represent West Ashley. Wiles is running uncontested to fill the remaining two years on an unexpired term vacated by former School Board member John Barter who resigned last year to take a job in Alabama.

Three newcomers will compete to represent Mount Pleasant - Chris Staubes, Kate Darby and Sarah Shad Johnson. There are currently no school board members representing Mount Pleasant.

Moffly, who lives in Awendaw, is running for the constituent school board for the St. James-Santee District, which includes McClellanville and Awendaw.

Board members Tom Ducker, Todd Garrett, Michael Miller and the Rev. Chris Collins are not up for re-election until 2016.

The deadline to file as a candidate in Charleston County was Friday. The elections are Nov. 4.