South Carolina troopers issue 230 tickets for texting in first five months of law

State troopers have issued 230 texting-while-driving tickets in the first five months of South Carolina’s new law.

Highway Patrol Cpl. Sony Collins told the Morning News of Florence that he isn’t surprised that the number is low because troopers must have a clear view of drivers texting before pulling them over for it.

The law that went into effect in December allows motorists to hold phones if they are making a phone call or using a GPS application.

Drivers who violate the law get a ticket that costs $25 for the first offense and $50 for each subsequent offense. No points are put on their driving record.