7 SC colleges to train students in cybersecurity

In this September 2010 file photo, the National Cybersecurity & Communications Integration Center (NCCIC) prepares for an exercise at its operations center in Arlington, Va.

ORANGEBURG, S.C. — Seven South Carolina colleges and universities and the Charleston County School District are joining with other institutions to train students for cybersecurity careers.

The White House announced this week that $25 million in federal money is being earmarked for such training largely at historically black colleges and universities.

The Cybersecurity Workforce Pipeline Consortium brings together institutions nationwide, two Department of Energy labs and the Charleston County School District to train students.

U.S. Rep. Jim Clyburn, D-S.C., announced on Friday that more than $16 million will be coming to institutions in South Carolina.

The colleges and universities in South Carolina participating include Allen University and Benedict College in Columbia.

The others are Claflin University, Denmark Technical College, Morris College, South Carolina State University and Voorhees College.