The Tri-County Fraternal Order of Police Lodge No. 3 held its 16th annual award ceremony Saturday, recognizing area officers and community members for merit, valor and exceptional actions.

State Sen. Sean Bennett, R-Summerville, hosted this year’s ceremony and presented awards to roughly 50 recipients, the lodge’s president John Blackmon said. Those recognized included officers from Charleston, North Charleston, Mount Pleasant, Goose Creek, Summerville and Walterboro police departments, Charleston and Berkeley County sheriff’s offices and Highway Patrol.

The event aims to “recognize the achievements and bravery of the tri-county area’s law enforcement officers,” Blackmon said.

Among this year’s recipients were the following:

Former Charleston County Undersheriff and former Cottageville Police Chief Thomas Botchie, Lifetime Achievement Award; State Sen. Paul Thurmond, Legislator of the Year; Walterboro police Cpl. Gene Johnson, Officer of the Year; Ryan Heid, FOP Lodge No. 3 Member of the Year.

Reach Christina Elmore at 843-937-5908.