Mayor, councilmen face challengers in N. Charleston race

North Charleston City Hall

North Charleston voters will be heading to the polls in November to choose its elected city leaders.

The mayor’s job and all 10 council seats are up for re-election on Nov. 3. The deadline to file as a candidate was noon Friday.

After days of protests in the wake of a white police officer’s shooting of an unarmed black man in April, demonstrators called for the removal of the city’s leadership and implored residents to register to vote.

The city has just over 54,000 registered voters, more than half of them African-American, and has added just under 1,000 to the roles since Walter Scott’s April 4 shooting.

Mayor Keith Summey, who has served the state’s third largest city for the last 20 years, faces three African-American challengers for the city’s top spot.

Chris T. Collins, John Singletary Jr. and Clifford Smith II have all filed to run against him.

In the council races, District 4 Councilman Ron Brinson, first elected in 2011, has the only uncontested race. A total of 29 candidates are running for the 10 council seats. Winners are determined by a simple majority.

District 3 Councilman Bobby Jameson is not seeking re-election and District 9 representative Dwight Stigler, who moved to Florida earlier this summer, resigned on Sept. 1.

Candidates who filed to run are:

District 1: Incumbent Edward C. Astle, Michael A. Brown

District 2: Incumbent Rhonda Jameson Jerome, Raymond A. Lloyd Jr.

District 3: Russell J. Coletti, Mark J. Conway, Virginia White Jamison, Lathaniel L. Ford

District 4: Brinson

District 5: Incumbent Brian Todd Olds, Sean Middleton, Stephen R. Ayer

District 6: Incumbent Dorothy King Williams, Jesse Williams, Willie Bruce Heyward

District 7: Incumbent Sam Hart, Andrea Bailey Erb, St. Julian Corey Van Hannegeyn III

District 8: Incumbent Robert N. King, Anastasia G. Gandy, Marvin R. Pendarvis, Lisa Ann Kirchner

District 9: David J. McDonough, Kenneth L. Skipper, Valerie Harper-Young, Nelson B. Rivers III

District 10: Incumbent Michael A. Brown, Anjene S. Davis, Bernard Brown

Reach Brenda Rindge at 937-5713 or @brindge on Twitter.