While many Lowcountry officials will cruise to re-election unopposed, a handful of intriguing political battles emerged when filing for office closed Friday.

Both the Lowcountry's top prosecutors appear certain to win new four-year terms without formal opposition. First Circuit Solicitor David Pascoe, who covers Dorchester, Calhoun and Orangeburg counties, has no opponent. Neither does 9th Circuit Solicitor Scarlett Wilson, who handles cases in Berkeley and Charleston counties.

Meanwhile, U.S. Rep. Jim Clyburn, D-S.C., also has no opposition for his bid for an 11th term representing the state's 6th District. U.S. Rep. Tim Scott, R-S.C., will face a challenge from Democrat Bobbie Rose this fall in the 1st District. Both districts include parts of the Charleston metro area.

Here is a brief look at six of the most intriguing contests that will play out in the June 12 primaries and the Nov. 6 general election.

A month ago, most figured Glenn McConnell, R-Charleston, would easily win re-election in Senate District 41. But his elevation to the lieutenant governor's post has set off a five-way scramble for his open seat, which includes much of West Ashley and James Island.

Democratic lawyer Paul Tinkler and four Republicans have filed for the seat. The GOP candidates include military instructor Sean Pike, Fair Tax advocate John Steinberger, former Charleston County Councilman Paul Thurmond and businessman Wally Burbage.

Filing also opened Friday for a special July 17 election that will determine who represents the district this summer and fall.

Republican incumbent Peggy Moseley told party officials a week ago that she was ending her re-election plans but changed her mind.

Moseley, who has faced criticism for her office's response to problems with a new computer system and tax breaks on her Johns Island home, faces two primary opponents: former Mount Pleasant Town Councilman Paul Gawrych and former Charleston County School Board member David Engelman.

The victor will face the winner of the June 12 Democratic race between Peter Tecklenburg and Melva Zinaich. The full-time post pays about $91,000 a year.

State Sen. Robert Ford, a Charleston Democrat, has held this Charleston-North Charleston seat since 1992, but he has faced mounting criticism within his party in recent years.

While Ford's fellow Democratic senators have rallied to his side, his re-election will hinge on a June 12 primary battle.

Ford will face Master Bines and Frederick “Fritz” Fielding, son of former state Sen. Herb Fielding, a Charleston Democrat who held the seat before Ford.

Sheriff Al Cannon, a Republican who was first elected in 1988, has not faced opposition during his last two re-election bids, but this time he faces a challenge from one of his former deputies, Democrat Mark Whisenant.

Whisenant has said he would work to put more deputies on the street and address a backlog of about 46,000 warrants. Cannon has said he is running on his record and is looking forward to the chance to talk with citizens and the media about the office.

The Charleston County sheriff's budget is $55 million, including the cost of running the county's new jail named in Cannon's honor.

South Carolina's recent redistricting has created a wide-open race for the newly drawn House District 15 seat, which was moved from Laurens and Newberry counties to the Lowcountry.

Two Republicans, the Rev. Samuel Rivers of Goose Creek and Charlie Davis, will face off in a June 12 primary, and the winner will face Democrat Mirian Redish in the fall.

The district covers small parts of northern North Charleston and Hanahan, plus Red Bank Road and much of the Charleston Naval Weapons Station and the Pimlico area to the north.

State Rep. Peter McCoy, R-James Island, considered running for the vacant Senate 41 seat but opted to seek re-election instead.

The district covers much of James Island and is one of the few Lowcountry Statehouse races with both a Republican and a Democratic candidate,

McCoy, an attorney, will face retired educator Carol Tempel, wife of former Charleston County Democratic Chairman George Tempel.

Congress 1st District Tim Scott, R (i) Bobbie Rose, D 6th District Jim Clyburn, D (i) Solicitor Races 1st Circuit David Pascoe, D (i) 9th Circuit Scarlett Wilson, R (i) S.C. Legislature Senate District 38 Mike Rose, R (i) Sean Bennett, R Senate District 39 John Matthews, D (i) Senate District 41 Paul Tinkler, D Sean Pike, R John Steinberger, R Paul Thurmond, R Wally Burbage, R Senate District 42 Robert Ford, D (i) Fritz Fielding, D Master Bines, D Senate District 43 Chip Campsen, R (i) Senate District 44 Paul Campbell, R (i) Barbara McGowin, D House District 15 Samuel Rivers, R Charlie Davis, R Mirian Redish, D House District 92 Joe Daning, R (i) House District 94 Jenny Horne, R (i) House District 97 Ed Carter, R Jordan Bryngelson, R Patsy Knight, D (i) House District 98 Chris Murphy, R (i) House District 99 Jim Merrill, R (i) House District 100 Eddy Southard, R (i) Dr. Tonia Aiken-Taylor, D House District 102 Joseph Jefferson, D (i) John J. Mondo Sr., R House District 109 David Mack, D (i) House District 110 Chip Limehouse, R (i) Peter VonLehe Ruegner, R House District 111 Wendell Gilliard, D (i) Will Freeman, R House District 112 Mike Sottile, R (i) House District 113 Seth Whipper, D (i) House District 114 Bobby Harrell, R (i) Larry Carter Center, D House District 115 Carol Tempel, D Peter McCoy, R (i) House District 116 Robert Brown, D (i) House District 117 Bill Crosby, R House District 119 Leon Stavrinakis, D (i) Sean Hughes, R Chris Cannon, R Berkeley County Auditor Janet Jurosko, R (i) Treasurer Carolyn Umphlett, R (i) Council District 1 Philip Farley, R (i) Council District 2 Tim Callanan, R (i) Council District 3 Ken Gunn, R Bob Call, R (i) Charleston County Sheriff Al Cannon, R (i) Mark Whisenant, D Clerk of Court Julie Armstrong, R (i) Coroner Rae Wooten, R (i) Auditor Peggy Moseley, R (i) David Engelman, R Paul Gawrych, R Peter Tecklenburg, D Melva Zinaich, D Treasurer Andy Smith, R (i) Council District 3 Elliott Summey, R (i) John Polk, D Council District 4 Henry Darby, D (i) Council District 6 Vic Rawl, D (i) Carolyn Hughes, R Council District 7 Colleen Condon, D (i) Brian Moody, R Dorchester County Sheriff L.C. Knight, R (i) Mike Turner, R Clerk of Court Cheryl Graham, R (i) Treasurer Mary Pearson, R (i) RMC Margaret Bailey, R (i) Coroner Chris Nisbet, R (i) Auditor J.J. Messervy, R (i) Council District 4 John Hull, R Larry Hargett, R (i) Council District 5 Carroll Duncan, R Council District 6 Bill Hearn, R (i) Roger W. Goodman, R Miriam Birdsong, D *(i) denotes incumbent

Reach Robert Behre at 937-5771.