Hull, Marshall, Ellis apparent winners for Folly Beach Council

Laurie Hull, Teresa Marshall and Eddie Ellis were elected to Folly Beach City Council on Tuesday, according to unofficial results. (file/staff)

Voters elected two new City Council members on Tuesday and returned an incumbent to a fourth term.

In unofficial results, candidates Laurie Hull and Teresa Marshall were victors and Eddie Ellis kept his seat on Council.

Only three votes separated Marshall and Keith Bolus and there are four provisional ballots, said Joe Debney, executive director of the Charleston County Board of Elections and Voter Registration.

Whether the four ballots are valid and which candidate might receive them will be determined Thursday when the election results are certified, Debney said.

In unofficial returns, candidates and vote totals were Hull, 443; Ellis, 336; Marshall, 319; Bolus, 316; Roger VanDyke, 211; John F. Merritt Jr., 160; Zachary Papaioannou, 54, Debney said.

Turnout was said to be about 28 percent of 2,263 registered voters.

Mayor Tim Goodwin said it is time for the new council to get down to business.

“The people have spoken so here we go. Little do they (new Council members) know it’s budget time. They don’t get to go anywhere for the next two months,” Goodwin said.

Ellis, the second longest-serving Councilman, said he was grateful for the voter support. He was elected to a fourth term. Marshall and Hull have served on the Folly Parks and Recreation board.

Incumbents Tom Scruggs and Sandy Hickman did not seek re-election. Campaign issues included the need for controlled growth, better parking management and beach renourishment.

The mayor and six council members govern Folly. Council is elected at large, meaning the top three vote-getters are the winners.