Furman University has announced leaders who will be participating in the Riley Institute’s Diversity Leaders Initiative.

Leaders from the corporate, nonprofit, education, faith-based and government sectors will meet over the next five months in groups around the state to discuss issues and develop relationships.

“The frames of reference and skills that DLI graduates share provide a remarkable platform for working together to help South Carolina compete in the 21st century,” Don Gordon, executive director of the institute and a political science professor at Furman, said in a statement. “They have a common ability to effect change through leadership positions in their organizations and community.”

The Riley fellows from the Charleston area are:

Rita Berry, president and CEO of the Greater Summerville/Dorchester County Chamber of Commerce; Michael Bobby, chief of finance, operating and capital programs for the Charleston County School District; Cindy Bohn Coats, Charleston County School Board chairwoman; Adair Boroughs, law clerk for U.S. District Court in Charleston; Bryan Boroughs, general counsel and director of Legislative Affairs for the Institute for Child Success in Charleston.

Bobby Collins, senior vice president of PURE Insurance in Charleston; Lydia Cotton of North Charleston, hispanic liaison; Kelly Cusanelli, senior deputy director of human resources for SCRA in Summerville.

Hamilton Davis, energy program director for the Coastal Conservation League in Charleston; Julia-Ellen Davis, trustee for S.C. First Steps in Charleston; Eddie Driggers, North Charleston police chief; Mark Edington, chief operating officer for the Charleston Metro Chamber of Commerce; Kenyatta Gardner, attorney with Nexsen Pruet in Charleston; Courtney Howard, director of the Center for Partnerships to Improve Education at the College of Charleston.

Paul Kohlheim, vice chairman of the board for Tri-County Cradle to Career on Sullivan’s Island; Amanda Lawrence, vice president of community impact for Trident United Way; Spencer Lynch; managing director for investments with Lynch Cracraft Wealth Management of Raymond James in Charleston; Melissa Maddox-Evans, general counsel for the Charleston Housing Authority; Barbara Melvin, senior vice president of external affairs for the State Ports Authority.

Cynthia Morton, attorney with Womble Carlyle Sandridge & Rice in Charleston; Jennifer Murray, senior vice president and retail area manager for South State Bank in Charleston.

Andrea Schenck, co-founder and managing principal for Pacifica Human Communications in Charleston; Arnold Singleton, vice president of administration for Santee Cooper in Moncks Corner; Martin Skelly, president of SIB Fixed Cost Reduction in Charleston; Debra Sonkin, principal of Search Advisory Group on Johns Island;

Mike Stebbins, director of operations for SCRA Applied R&D in Summerville; Melanie Stith, vice president of Human Resources for Roper St. Francis Healthcare in Charleston; Matt Story, attorney with Clawson & Staubes in Charleston; Mindy Sturm, executive director of the city of Charleston MOCYF.

Catherine Templeton, president of Brawley Templeton in Mount Pleasant; Mary Thornley, president of Trident Technical College in North Charleston; Maj. Eric Watson, Charleston County Sheriff’s Office public information officer; Stewart Weinberg, president of the Jewish Community Center of Charleston Board of Directors; Steve Woodward, COO of SAFEmap International in Mount Pleasant.

Reach Dave Munday at 937-5553.