About Charleston's 350th Commemoration

The Charleston 350 Commemoration marks the arrival of English settlers from Barbados to Charles Towne Landing in 1670 and shares Charleston’s full and accurate story up to the present day. The programs held throughout the year will honor the customs, diverse cultures, and rich heritage through a deep reflection and true representation of the city’s history. Charleston is a great city whose story is still unfolding and being examined by scholars, entrepreneurs, and everyday citizens. The Charleston 350 Commemoration is an opportunity for the city and its people to set the stage for the next chapters of Charleston’s future.


This year, 2020 marks 350 years since the historic founding at Charles Towne in 1670 for what will become the City of Charleston. We are commemorating this historical event by engaging the community and the state of South Carolina to honor the city’s rich heritage, unique customs, and diverse cultures in a manner that examines it’s past and present while setting the course for its future as a 21st-century global city.


A compassionate community unified in its resolve to overcome challenges of the past, present, and future, together.

Charleston 350 Commissioners

The Charleston City Council passed an official resolution to create the Charleston 350 Commission in May 2018. The commission began meeting in Sept. 2018 and meets quarterly to provide oversight for the Charleston 350th Commemoration. Members of the commission ensure the programs and activities associated with the 350th-anniversary focus on the history, customs, and culture of Charleston and will have a common benefit to the citizens of Charleston, the state of South Carolina and visitors.

Charleston 350 Commission Co-Chairs

Mr. Jonathan Green, City of Charleston Ambassador for the Arts

Hon. A. Peter Shahid Jr., City Councilmember, Ninth District

Charleston 350 Commissioners

Col. Terrence Adams, Joint Base Charleston

Mrs. Robin Berlinsky, Engaging Creative Minds

Mr. Carl Borick, Charleston Museum

Mrs. Dolly Chewning, SC Dept. of Parks, Recreation and Tourism

Mr. Steve Coe, Rosenblum Coe Architects Inc.

Mrs. Allison Coliskey, Charleston Jewish Federation

Dr. Maria Cordova, Circulo Hispanoamericano de Charleston

Mr. Bryan Derreberry, Charleston Metro Chamber of Commerce

Ms. Sterling DeVries, Charleston Gaillard Center

Mr. Dave Echols, Charleston RiverDogs

Mrs. Rhoda Green, Barbados Honorary Consul

Hon. William Dudley Gregorie, City of Charleston

Mr. Winslow Hastie, Historic Charleston Foundation

Mrs. Helen Hill, Charleston Area Convention/Visitors Bureau

Dr. Andrew Hsu, College of Charleston

Mr. Jerry Ives, SC Dept. of Parks, Recreation and Tourism

Mrs. Darlene Jackson, Charleston County Public Library

Hon. Marlon E. Kimpson, Charleston County Legislative Delegation

Mr. Kristopher King, Preservation Society of Charleston

Mrs. Angela Mack, The Gibbes Museum of Art

Hon. Peter McCoy, Charleston County Legislative Delegation

Mrs. Doerte McManus, Charleston Library Society

Rev. Dr. Kylon Middleton, Mt. Zion AME

Dr. Bernie Powers, College of Charleston (and IAAM)

Mr. Daniel Ravenel, SC Historical Society

Hon. Judge Vic Rawl, Charleston County Council

Mr. Nigel Redden, Spoleto Festival USA

Hon. Mike Seekings, City of Charleston

Capt. Taylor Skardon, The Citadel

Mr. Michael Smith, The Charleston Symphony

Hon. J. Elliot Summey, Charleston County Council

Hon. John J. Tecklenburg, City of Charleston

Mrs. Eld. Carlie Towne, Gullah Geechee Angel Network

The Venerable Calhoun Walpole, Grace Church Cathedral