Ten Tigers make preseason all-ACC first team

CLEMSON — Based on the returning talent on Clemson’s roster, ACC media voters foresee a total of ten Tigers ending up on the all-ACC first team.

The preseason selections, which included 26 names (12 offense, 11 defense, three special teams) were dominated by defending champion Clemson.

Six of the 12 offensive spots were occupied by Clemson, including 2015 ACC Player of the Year Deshaun Watson at quarterback. He was joined by all three returning starters on Clemson’s offensive line (left tackle Mitch Hyatt, center Jay Guillermo and right guard Tyrone Crowder) along with tight end Jordan Leggett and receiver Artavis Scott.

On defense, three Tigers are on the list: defensive tackle Carlos Watkins, linebacker Ben Boulware and cornerback Cordrea Tankersley. Those are three of the Tigers’ four seniors slated to start on defense.

Kicker Greg Huegel, a former walk-on who won the placekicking job in last year’s fall camp, rounded out Clemson’s representatives.

Florida State had five selections, led by running back Dalvin Cook, while Louisville and defending ACC Coastal Division champ North Carolina had three picks each.