Summerville’s Austin Zoller takes Carolinas Amateur lead

Summerville’s Austin Zoller, who just completed his freshman season at Winthrop, shot a 3-under-par 67 Friday and earned a two-shot lead at the midway point of the Carolinas Amateur Championship being played at the Country Club of Charleston.

Zoller is at 4-under-par 136 with four players tied for second including Summerville native and Charleston Southern golfer R.J. Keur, who posted a 68. Christian Sease of Mount Pleasant, who also played for Winthrop, is tied for sixth at 139.

The Seth Raynor-designed course is playing to par-70 for the Carolinas Golf Association championship with the fifth hole, normally a par-5, being played as a 499-yard par-4.

First-round leader Scott Harvey of Jamestown, N.C., struggled Friday and shot 75 for a 141 total and is tied for 20th.

It took a score of 145, 5 over par, to make the cut for the final two rounds. Saturday’s tee times begin at 8 a.m. off both 1 and 10 with the leaders starting off No. 1 at 9:40 a.m.

Zoller said he played smart both days but Friday “I just had a few better misses.”

Zoller made his only bogey of the day on the fifth hole, but got that back with a birdie on No. 9 and added birdies at 12, 15 and 17.


Austin Zoller, Summerville 69-67—136

R.J. Keur, Summerville 70-68—138

Tim Conover, Holly Springs, N.C. 70-68—138

Hunter Watkins, Lexington 69-69—138

Justin Tereshko, Jamestown, N.C. 68-70—138

Preston Cole, Greer 72-67—139

Eric Edwards, Salisbury, N.C. 72-67—139

John Pitt, Raleigh 71-68—139

Christian Sease, Mount Pleasant 70-69—139

Reilly Erhardt, Greensboro 69-70—139

Chandler White, Clemmons, N.C. 69-70—139

Carson Young, Pendleton 73-67—140

Kevin O’Connell, Raleigh 73-67—140

Logan Harrell, Huntersville, N.C. 72-68—140

Christian Salzer, Sumter 71-69—140

Stephen Franken, Raleigh 70-70—140

Josh Branyon, Honea Path 70-70—140

Steven Brame, Henderson, N.C. 70-70—140

Chandler Mulkey, Johns Island 69-71—140

Zachary Herold, Lexington 73-68—141

Adam Langford, Murrells Inlet 71-70—141

Bailey Patrick, Charlotte 71-70—141

Matt Carter, Easley 70-71—141

Riley Schank, Bluffton 70-71—141

Eric Bae, Pinehurst, N.C. 69-72—141

Scott Harvey, Kernersville, N.C. 66-75—141

Chris Jones, Charlotte 74-68—142

Chad Cox, Charlotte 72-70—142

Keegan Hoff, Charlotte 72-70—142

Treg Hallman, Mount Pleasant 72-70—142

Jamie Wilson, Mount Pleasant 71-71—142

William Rainey, Charlotte 71-71—142

Bryce Howell, Blythewood 70-72—142

David Gies II, Charlotte 75-68—143

Josh Nichols, Kernersville, N.C. 75-68—143

Blake Taylor, Atkinson, N.C. 74-69—143

Michael Sanders, Davidson, N.C. 74-69—143

Matt Elliott, Wilkesboro, N.C. 73-70—143

Joe Jaspers, Huntersville, N.C. 73-70—143

Doc Redman, Raleigh 72-71—143

Patrick Schweitz, Clayton, N.C. 72-71—143

Philip Oweida, Charlotte 71-72—143

Blake Maull, Charleston 70-73—143

Blake Mcshea, Zebulon, N.C. 69-74—143

Zachary Bishop, Travelers Rest 75-69—144

Sawyer Mills, Easley 75-69—144

Eric Mitchell, Winston-Salem, N.C. 75-69—144

Victor Wiggins, Gastonia, N.C. 74-70—144

Andrew Ward, Indian Trail, N.C. 74-70—144

Parks Price, Calabash, N.C. 73-71—144

Regan Erhardt, Greensboro 72-72—144

Kenan Poole II, Raleigh 72-72—144

David Sargent, Cornelius, N.C. 71-73—144

Yancey Johnson, Simpsonville 70-74—144

Ford Blanchard Jr., Orangeburg 69-75—144

James Lightsey Jr., Fort Mill 72-73—145

David Donovan IV, Hampstead, N.C. 72-73—145

Brian Westveer, Charlotte 70-75—145

Jordan Warnock, Roebuck 73-72—145

Parker Dudley, Charleston 71-74—145

Patrick Stephenson, Four Oaks, N.C. 74-71—145


Frank Ford III, Charleston 73-73—146

Wesley Conover, Holly Springs, N.C. 75-71—146

Uly Grissette, Winston-Salem, N.C. 73-73—146

Blake Wagoner, Cornelius, N.C. 74-72—146

Doug Ramey, Greer 73-73—146

Jackson Bailey, Matthews, N.C. 70-76—146

Will Stewart, Charlotte 72-74—146

Matthew Rogers, Huntersville, N.C. 72-74—146

Ujan Zarems, Wilmington, N.C. 72-74—146

Caleb Keck, Reidsville, N.C. 76-70—146

Ben O’Geary, Henderson, N.C. 76-70—146

Kirk Mitchell, Bluffton 72-74—146

Christian Cichan, Charlotte 69-77—146

Whitfield Massey, Mount Pleasant 71-75—146

Jonathan Brightwell, Mint Hill, N.C. 73-74—147

Henry Augenstein, Columbia 73-74—147

Dustin Moore, Greensboro 72-75—147

Adam Walker, Charleston 71-76—147

Zakariya Butt, Summerville 78-69—147

Jarett Stowe, Matthews, N.C. 74-73—147

Rhodes Karriker, Matthews, N.C. 73-74—147

Charlie Niland, Charlotte 72-75—147

Connor Bruns, Duncan 72-76—148

Ben Buben, Charlotte 75-73—148

Nathan Bull, Candler 74-74—148

Jeremy Ray, Pfafftown, N.C. 77-71—148

Matthew Laydon, Charleston 74-74—148

Henry Shimp, Charlotte 74-74—148

Thomas Todd III, Laurens 73-75—148

Gettys Glaze, Charleston 71-77—148

Dwight Cauthen, Columbia 77-72—149

Alex Scott, Raleigh 74-75—149

Brad Coleman, Jamestown, N.C. 77-72—149

Gordon Williams, Charleston 77-72—149

Alec Weary, Bluffton 74-75—149

David Kostyal II, Wilmington, N.C. 73-76—149

Levi Grogan, Canton, N.C. 78-71—149

Drake Cassidy, Hartsville 75-74—149

William Harwood, Columbia 78-71—149

Nick Eberhardt, Lake Wylie 78-71—149

Hunter Parks, Union 76-73—149

Walter Brinker, Sanford, N.C. 76-73—149

Brandon Mader, Greenville, N.C. 75-75—150

Logan Shuping, Salisbury, N.C. 75-75—150

Paul Simson, Raleigh 76-74—150

Matthew Wiggins, Laurens 74-76—150

Weston Sanders, Greenwood 79-71—150

Daniel Day, Seneca 75-76—151

Paul Fitzgerald, Charlotte 74-77—151

Evan Rodwell, Charleston 78-73—151

Ryan Carpenter, Aiken 75-76—151

Mitch Robinette, Charlotte 74-77—151

Zachary Martin, Pinehurst, N.C. 80-71—151

Jonathan Phillips, Hardeeville 79-72—151

Noah Edmondson, Davidson, N.C. 74-77—151

Fitz Woodrow IV, Lexington 75-77—152

Michael Cowley, Cary, N.C. 76-76—152

Mark Germann, Clayton, N.C. 73-80—153

Justin Hood, Saint Matthews 77-76—153

Harrison Frye, Gastonia, N.C. 78-75—153

Nicolas Principi, Huntersville, N.C. 74-79—153

Charlie Tate, Greensboro 74-79—153

Daniel Jackson, Matthews, N.C. 76-78—154

Leonard Herd, Rock Hill 76-78—154

Eric Williams, Goldsboro, N.C. 78-76—154

Griffin Cryan, Pinehurst, N.C. 77-78—155

Christian Park, Charlotte 77-78—155

Scott Park, Charlotte 81-75—156

Whit Howard, Raleigh 80-77—157

Dwayne Simpson, Charlotte 75-82—157

Brody Davis, Harrisburg, N.C. 77-80—157

Charles Spry, Winston-Salem, N.C. 79-78—157

Zack Swanson, Waxhaw, N.C. 76-82—158

Mark Whitley, Stantonsburg, N.C. 79-79—158

Cordes Ford IV, Charleston 83-75—158

Michael Murray Jr., Greensboro 76-83—159

Corey Stamper, Waynesville, N.C. 79-80—159

Devin McGillan, Lexington 78-82—160

Brian Hewat, Charlotte 74-86—160

Ben Esposito, Pittsboro, N.C. 76-85—161

William Little, Kannapolis, N.C. 81-83—164

Gene Queen, Advance, N.C. 86-79—165

Matthew Latham, Wrightsville Beach, N.C. 76-DQ

Grant Houser, Holly Springs, N.C. WD