As the official kickoff for Lowcountry track and field, the Sandlapper Classic put on display some of the top athletes in the area last weekend at West Ashley High School.

Showing to be in championship form was the area’s top sprinter — West Ashley senior Darrell Singleton, who captured the top spot in the 100- and 200-meter events. Singleton set a meet record with a time of 10.61 seconds in the 100 and posted a time of 21.86 in the 200.

Last May, Singleton finished second in the 100-meter state finals, losing to Spartanburg’s Tavien Feaster. Singleton’s time on Saturday was identical to his time at last year’s state meet. Singleton finished third in the Class AAAA finals in the 200 a year ago, also won by Feaster.

Singleton was named the most valuable runner in the Sandlapper Classic, while Bluffton’s Neil Blanken took home top field honors by winning the shot put and discus events. Blanken set a meet record in the discus with a throw of 165-feet, 1-inch.

On the girls side, Stratford’s Aaliyah Deveaux was MVP of field events for her first-place finish in the shot put and a fourth-place finish in the discus.

Wando sophomore sprinter Zeniyah Lawrence was the MVP of the track events. Lawrence won the 100- and 200- meter dashes.

Summerville’s 400-meter relay team also excelled, setting a meet record with a time of 47.84 seconds. Summerville narrowly defeated Wando in the finals, setting up what should be a highly competitive spring in the relay events.

In the team standings, the Summerville girls edged Wando for first place, while James Island finished fourth among the 17 schools represented.

The Wando boys finished ahead of Summerville for first place with Goose Creek and Stratford tying for fifth place among 16 schools.

The next showcase event in the Lowcountry is the Outback Classic at Summerville High on Saturday with events starting at 10 a.m.

Region 6-AA honors

Region 6-AA announced its all-region basketball teams for boys and girls. Bishop England girls coach Paul Runey was named the coach of the year, while Academic Magnet boys coach Mike Kelly was the co-coach of the year with Antoine Youmans of Battery Creek.

Bishop England junior Brendan McHale was the region’s co-player of the year, sharing the honor with Markell Smalls of Battery Creek. On the girls side, Bishop England teammates Jo Jo Tompkins and Rhetta Moore were the co-players of the year.

Earning all-region boys honors were Danny Cunningham, Alex Pastis and Bryson Rose of Academic Magnet; Leo Albano and Jake Owens of Bishop England; Adonis Williams and Trevin Simmons of Battery Creek; George Delaney and Camron Miller of Whale Branch; Kenny Jones of Garrett Tech and Statan Levine of North Charleston.

In girls basketball, Caroline McQueeney, Hannah Corbett and Anna Marie Peninger represented Bishop England. Other honorees include Ashley Bryan and Caroline Black of Academic Magnet; Jonae Riley and Nicole Smalls of Whale Branch; TaQuasia Lampkin of Battery Creek; Victoria Carroll of Garrett Tech, and Shakaya Gilliard of North Charleston.

Region 8-AAAA honors

Fort Dorchester’s Leon Wheaton was selected as the Region 8-AAAA boys basketball coach of the year and Bluffton’s Jermaine Patterson was voted the region’s player of the year.

Earning all-region honors were Adonicas Sanders, Mason Snype and Deon Joyner of Fort Dorchester; Terrelle Bowens and Tru’shaun Moorer of Summerville; Hakeem Ellington and Jeremiah King of Ashley Ridge; Tristen Nieves of Colleton County and Tyrese Sandgren of Bluffton.