Charleston RiverDogs president Mike Veeck and University of South Carolina women's basketball coach Dawn Staley are among five people who will receive special awards for their contribution to sports at the South Carolina Athletic Hall of Fame banquet on May 12 in Columbia.

Veeck will receive the Willie Jeffries Ambassador Award while Staley, who led South Carolina to a No. 1 national seed this year, will receive a Special Achievement Awards.

The Veeck family is synonymous with baseball promotions and in 2013 the RiverDogs earned the Larry McPhail Award for the top promotions effort in all of Minor League Baseball, the second time the club has won the award.,

Staley led the Gamecocks to a 29-5 record this year and has a 121-71 record in five seasons at South Carolina.

Billy D'Andrea of Clemson, a former assistant football coach and executive senior association athletic director, will receive the Bobby Richardson Sportsmanship Award; Rick Henry, sports director of WIS-TV in Columbia, will receive the Herman Helms Media Excellence Award; and Dennis Powell, a former University of South Carolina basketball player, will receive the board's Dom Fusci Leadership in Action Award.

The 2014 Hall of Fame inductees are NFL Hall of Famer Brian Dawkins and quarterback Rodney Williams of Clemson; former Gamecock basketball standout Zam Frederick; former USC pitching star Randy Martz; former S.C. State football standout Edwin Bailey; Olympian Monique Hennagan of Columbia; former Newberry basketball star Carl Short; and former University of South Carolina golfer Happ Lathrop, now executive director of the South Carolina Golf Association.