South Carolina had four players in the top 25 and shared the lead with Missouri after Sunday's opening round of the Hootie at Bulls Bay Intercollegiate golf tournament at Bulls Bay Golf Club in Awendaw.

South Carolina and Missouri both posted 7-under-par rounds of 281 to earn a one-stroke lead over the College of Charleston and Wake Forest. Virginia and Kentucky are tied for fifth at 283. Charleston Southern is ninth at 290.

College of Charleston sophomore Josh Lorenzetti, South Carolina freshman Ben Dietrich and Virginia freshman Derek Bard shared the individual lead with 4-under-par 68s.

Lorenzetti managed a bogey-free round, recording four birdies to lead the Cougars. Zach Munroe opened with a 70 for the College of Charleston while John Jonas and Alex Ellis both shot even-par 72 to tie for 25th.

Dietrich made six birdies through the first 11 holes but double bogeyed the par-5 13th for his 68. The Gamecocks' Matthew NeSmith shot 70; Will Starke was tied for 18th with a 71; and Caleb Sturgeon shot 72.

Charleston Southern was led by Will Pieper who was tied for 10th with an opening 70. Jarrett Swan opened with a 72.

The tournament continues through Tuesday. This is the 10th annual Hootie Intercollegiate. Duke won last year's event with an even-par 54-hole total of 874.


South Carolina, 281; Missouri, 281; College of Charleston, 282; Wake Forest, 282; Virginia, 283; Kentucky, 283; Auburn, 285; N.C. State, 287; Charleston Southern, 280; Wisconsin, 293; North Carolina, 294; USC-Aiken, 297; GRU Augusta, 297; Duke, 298; Akron, 303.


Josh Lorenzetti, College of Charleston, 68; Ben Dietrich, South Carolina, 68; Derek Bard, Virginia, 68; David Cooke, N.C. State, 69; Stephen Powers, Kentucky, 69; Cyrus Stewart, Wake Forest, 69; Ben Stow, Kentucky, 69; Euan Walker, Missouri, 69; Ryan Zach, Missouri, 69; Will Bishop, Kentucky, 70; Niclas Carlsson, Auburn, 70; Ryan Harris, Akron, 70; Zach Munroe, College of Charleston, 70; Matthew NeSmith, South Carolina, 70; Will Pieper, Charleston Southern, 70; Brandon Robinson-Thompson, USC-Aiken, 70; Davis Womble, Wake Forest, 70; Thomas Birdsey, Wake Forest, 71; Emilio Cuartero, Missouri, 71; Matt Gilchrest, Auburn, 71; David Pastore, Virginia, 71; Cody Shafer, GRU Augusta, 71; Will Starke, South Carolina, 71; Alex Wennstam, GRU Augusta, 71.