COLUMBIA - Former Clemson great Brian Dawkins, who played in the NFL for 16 seasons, and former University of South Carolina star Zam Fredrick, who led the NCAA in scoring in the 1980-81 season, head a list of eight athletes who will be inducted into the South Carolina Athletic Hall of Fame on May 12.

Before being drafted by the Philadelphia Eagles, Dawkins was a three-year starter at free safety for the Tigers and in 1995 was a second-team All-American. Fredrick, who played for coaches Frank McGuire and Bill Foster, averaged 28.9 points during the 1980-81 season. He spent his professional career playing in Italy before returning to South Carolina where he coached Calhoun County High School.

The Class of 2014 also includes Edwin Bailey, a former S.C. State football standout who was a Division I-AA All-American and played in the NFL for 11 seasons; Monique Hennagan of Spring Valley, a two-time Olympic gold medalist in the 4x400 meter run; Happ Lathrop, a former University of South Carolina golfer and S.C. Amateur winner who is now executive director of the South Carolina Golf Association.

Also, former Gamecock pitcher Randy Martz, who went 14-0 his senior season and was the No. 12 pick by the Chicago Cubs in the 1977 Major League Baseball draft; former Newberry basketball standout Carl Short, who was drafted by the NBA Cincinnati Royals; and former Clemson quarterback Rodney Williams, who compiled a 32-10-2 record and was MVP in two bowl games for the Tigers.

The induction ceremonies will take place at 5:30 p.m. May 12 at the Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center. The Bobby Richardson Sportsmanship Award also will be presented at the banquet, which will be emceed by former S.C. State football coach Willie Jeffries. Call (803) 779-0905.