Former Georgia Tech quarterback Joe Hamilton of Alvin, former Clemson head coach Danny Ford, former South Carolina wide receiver Sterling Sharpe and former South Carolina head coach Jim Carlen are on the 2014 ballot for induction into the College Football Hall of Fame, the National Football Foundation announced Thursday.

The ballot includes 75 players and six coaches from the Football Bowl Subdivision and 87 players and 26 coaches from the divisional ranks.

The ballot was mailed this week to the more than 12,000 NFF members and current Hall of Famers whose votes will be tabulated and submitted to the NFF's Honors Court, which deliberates and selects the class.

The 2014 College Football Hall of Fame Class will be announced in May from Irving, Texas, and inducted at the 57th annual NFF Awards Dinner on Dec. 9 at Waldorf Astoria Hotel in New York City.

Approximately 15 candidates make the Hall of Fame each year.

Hamilton was the runner-up in Heisman Trophy voting in 1999 (behind Wisconsin's Ron Dayne) during his record-setting season at Georgia Tech. He led the Yellow Jackets to three bowl berths.

Ford guided Clemson to the 1981 national championship and a 12-0 season. He won five ACC titles at Clemson and led Arkansas to the 1995 SEC West title.

Sharpe was a first team All-American at South Carolina in 1987, and held most of the Gamecocks' receiving records when he left school for the NFL.

Carlen had 13 winning seasons at West Virginia, Texas Tech and South Carolina and coached Heisman winner George Rogers in Columbia.

Others on the ballot include Eric Dickerson (SMU), Kirk Gibson (Michigan State), Dre Bly (North Carolina), Ted Brown (N.C. State), Brian Bosworth (Oklahoma), Jerome Brown (Miami), Eric Crouch (Nebraska), Tim Couch (Kentucky), Randall Cunningham (UNLV), Rashaan Salaam (Colorado), Warren Sapp (Miami), LaDanian Tomlinson (TCU) and Ricky Williams (Texas).

To be eligible for the ballot, players must have been named a First Team All-American by a major/national selector as recognized and utilized by the NCAA for their consensus All-America teams; played their last year of intercollegiate football at least 10 years prior; and played within the last 50 years and cannot be currently playing professional football. Coaches must have coached a minimum of 10 years and 100 games as a head coach; won at least 60 percent of their games; and be retired from coaching for at least three years.

If a coach is retired and over the age of 70, there is no waiting period. If he is over the age of 75, he is eligible as an active coach. In both cases, the candidate's post-football record as a citizen also may be weighed.