The Citadel's baseball team has been picked to finish second in the Southern Conference this season in polls of the league's media and coaches.

The Bulldogs, who made the championship game of the SoCon Tournament last year, earned three of 10 first-place votes in the coaches' poll, second behind Western Carolina (seven).

Western Carolina earned 13 of 18 first-place votes in the media poll to again finish ahead of The Citadel (three).

The Bulldogs placed seven players on the all-SoCon preseason team. Relief pitcher Skylar Hunter, designated hitter Bo Thompson and outfielder Hughston Armsrong made the second team. Second baseman Mason Davis, first baseman Calvin Orth, outfielder Tyler Griffin and shortstop Jonathan Stokes made the second team.

The Citadel will hold Meet the Bulldogs at 11a.m. Sunday at Riley Park, with the Blue-White scrimmage set for 1 p.m. The Bulldogs open the season Feb. 14 against Delaware.

SoCon Baseball Coaches Poll

Place School (First-place votes) Points

1. Western Carolina (7) 78

2. The Citadel (3) 75

3. Appalachian State 60

4. Elon 59

5. Georgia Southern 48

6. Furman 38

7. Samford 35

8. UNCG 30

9. Wofford 15

10. Davidson 12

SoCon Media Poll

Place School (First-place votes) Points

1. Western Carolina (13) 167

2. The Citadel (2) 149

3. Georgia Southern (2) 131

4. Elon (1) 130

5. Appalachian State 119

6. Samford 97

7. Furman 77

8. UNCG 60

9. Davidson 31

10. Wofford 29

All-SoCon team

Preseason Player of the Year

Aaron Attaway, Sr., SS, Western Carolina

Preseason Pitcher of the Year

Jeremy Null, Jr., RHP, Western Carolina

First Team

SP Jeremy Null, Western Carolina

SP Jordan Smith, Western Carolina

RP Skylar Hunter, The Citadel

C Adam Martin, Western Carolina

1B Jacob Hoyle, Western Carolina

2B Sebastian Gomez, Elon

SS Aaron Attaway, Western Carolina

3B Chris Ohmstede, Furman

OF Tyler Zupcic, Appalachian State

OF Hughston Armstrong, The Citadel

OF Eric Kalbfleisch, UNCG

DH Bo Thompson, The Citadel

Second Team

SP Jamie Nunn, Appalachian State

SP Alex Abrams, Furman

RP Eric Eck, Wofford

C Chase Griffin, Georgia Southern

1B Calvin Orth, The Citadel

2B Mason Davis, The Citadel

SS Johnathan Stokes, The Citadel

3B Ben Morgan, Georgia Southern

OF Jaylin Davis, Appalachian State

OF Tyler Griffin, The Citadel

OF Josh Hyman, Wofford

DH Greg Harrison, Furman