Post and Courier
September 23, 2014

Happenings for December 22, 2013

Posted: 12/22/2013 12:01 a.m.


Magnolia Plantation seeks poetry entries

Magnolia Plantation and Gardens will award prizes totaling more than $2,000 to poets young and old who best capture Magnolia as an idyllic "garden of romance."

The poetry contest will reward writers "who emulate the sensibility of romantic poets, stir the emotions and celebrate the natural world," according to a press release.

Entries will be judged in adult and young adult divisions.

"Unlike most of America's gardens, which are formal and seek to control nature, Magnolia cooperates with nature to create a tranquil landscape like Eden where humanity and nature are in harmony," Executive Director Tom Johnson said.

The "Garden of Romance" contest encourages submissions written in the vein of William Wordsworth, John Keats, Percy Bysshe Shelley, Celia Thaxter, Henry David Thoreau and Emily Dickinson. Poems should not exceed 30 lines.

The deadline is March 1. Email entries to tours@magnoliaplantation.com with "Garden of Romance Poetry Contest" in the subject line. The winners will be announced in April.

Entries in the adult division will be judged by poets Marjory Wentworth and Jacquelyn Markham.

Winners will receive $500 for first place, $300 for second, $200 for third and $50 for honorable mentions.

Entries in the youth division, age 12-17, will be judged by librarian Donna Adams and creative writing teacher Willette Wilkins. Winners will receive an iPad for first place, $200 for second, $100 for third place and an annual family membership to Magnolia for honorable mentions.

Poems in the young adult division can follow any style, but they must be double-spaced, 12-point typeface and no more than one page in length. For more contest details, go to www.magnolia plantation.com.

S.C. author publishes book on diabetes

South Carolina author Pansy Clayton has penned a book meant to help diabetics.

In "SOS: Simple Old Solutions for Type 2 Diabetes," Clayton, a resident of Ehrhardt, describes her own battle with diabetes and the efforts she's made to control it with a diet of fruits, vegetables and small amounts of meat.

Clayton hopes to encourage healthier lifestyles and prevent the organ and limb damage that many Type 2 diabetes patients suffer.

The 78-page self-published book is listed for $15.99 and is available online at Amazon.com, Barnes & Noble and Xlibris.