Stratford quarterback Jacob Park is one of five finalists for the state's Mr. Football Award.

The winner will be announced during halftime of Saturday's North-South All-Star Football game at 12:30 p.m. at Doug Shaw Memorial Stadium in Myrtle Beach.

Park, a 6-4 senior, helped Stratford reach the Division II-AAAA state championship against Northwestern. He completed 246 of 641 passes for 3,680 yards and 34 touchdowns last season.

Park is not playing in the North-South Game because he was selected for the Shrine Bowl of the Carolinas, which features the top senior players from South Carolina against the best from North Carolina. That game is set for Dec. 21 at Wofford.

Park also will play in the U.S. Army All-America Bowl early next month in San Antonio. He has committed to Georgia and plans to enroll there next semester.

The other candidates for Mr. Football include Spring Valley linebacker Christian Miller, Daniel running back Jae'lon Oglseby, Northwestern quarterback Mason Rudolph and Latta lineman Donnell Stanley.

Two players from the Lowcountry have won the award since its inception in 1995.

Stratford defensive end Moe Thompson won in 2001 and Goose Creek wide receiver/running back Tramel Terry won the award last year.

Byrnes' Bentley honored

Byrnes quarterback Shuler Bentley has been named the Gatorade South Carolina Football Player of the Year for the second straight year.

Bentley, a 6-1 senior who has committed to play for Old Dominion, completed 293 of 435 passes for 5,032 yards and 71 touchdowns for the Rebels, who finished 12-2 and reached the Division I-AAAA semifinals.

Shuler broke his own state record for single-season touchdown passes this fall. He threw 59 last fall. He threw 177 career TD passes, which also is a state record. Former Northwestern quarterback Justin Worley held the old record with 169.

The award recognizes outstanding athletic excellence, academic achievement and exemplary character demonstrated on and off the field.

Bentley has maintained a 3.44 GPA in the classroom and has volunteered locally on behalf of multiple community service initiatives in association with his church youth group and as an elementary school guest speaker.

Region 7-AAAA stars

The girls' tennis and volleyball coaches of Region 7-AAAA have announced their all-star teams.

In tennis, region champ Wando had three players honored: Katherine Lyman, Emily Kuester and Foster Kirkpatrick.

The rest of the team includes Alex Thompson and Cailyn Shaffer, Cane Bay; Anastasia Rivers and Chrisia Class, Stratford; Alese Brown and Theresa Linker, West Ashley; and Hayley Marchant and Chanel Richardson, Goose Creek.

Jaima Kennedy of West Ashley is coach of the year.

Volleyball region champ and state runner-up Wando placed three players on the all-star team: Natalie Tucker, Elisa Aldrich and Megan Morris.

The rest of the team includes Brett Pitcher and Lindsay Manning, Cane Bay; Diemend Richardson and Shakayia Wilson, Goose Creek; Erin Blakeney and Kayli Miles, Stratford; and Dekeiya Cohen and Sara Vincilli, West Ashley.

Wando's Alexis Glover is the coach of the year.