CLEMSON — Wide receiver Sammy Watkins and defensive end Vic Beasley were named first-team All-ACC by media voters Monday, but it was a down year overall for Clemson individuals.

In the first year of expanding to three all-conference teams (there have been two in the past), just two Tigers made the top squad and five were on the first- or second-teamers. Both figures match the program’s lowest figures since 2008.

For comparison, Clemson last year landed six first-team All-ACC players.

Watkins leads the ACC with 1,237 receiving yards, and returned to the All-ACC first team after getting the same nod his freshman year in 2011. Watkins was voted to the top squad on 63 of 65 ballots, leading all ACC players.

This is the first time Beasley, whose 12 sacks tied the ACC lead, has received postseason recognition. Both Watkins and Beasley are juniors.

Senior Tajh Boyd, the reigning ACC player of the year, was relegated to second-team All-ACC, bested by Florida State’s Heisman candidate Jameis Winston. Boyd, the school’s first three-time All-ACC quarterback, was joined on the second team by cornerback Bashaud Breeland and left tackle Brandon Thomas, who was a first-team offensive lineman last year.

The inaugural All-ACC third team included both of Clemson’s starting linebackers, Spencer Shuey and Stephone Anthony, as well as tailback Roderick McDowell, right guard Tyler Shatley and kicker Chandler Catanzaro. Wide receiver Martavis Bryant and defensive tackle Grady Jarrett were honorable mention.

All-ACC Football



QB—Jameis Winston, Florida State (191)

RB—Andre Williams, Boston College (195)*

RB—Devonta Freeman, Florida State (126)

WR—Sammy Watkins, Clemson (191)

WR—Jamison Crowder, Duke (172)

WR—Rashad Greene, Florida State (126)

TE—Eric Ebron, North Carolina (178)

OT—Cameron Erving, Florida State (148)

OT—James Hurst, North Carolina (118)

OG—Tre’ Jackson, Florida State (160)

OG—Shaq Mason, Georgia Tech (96)

C—Bryan Stork, Florida State (181)


DE—Vic Beasley, Clemson (161)

DE—Kareem Martin, North Carolina (159)

DT—Aaron Donald, Pittsburgh (171)

DT—Nikita Whitlock, Wake Forest (156)

LB—Kelby Brown, Duke (146)

LB—Denzel Perryman, Miami (124)

LB—Kevin Pierre-Louis, Boston College (123)

CB—Lamarcus Joyner, Florida State (172)

CB—Ross Cockrell, Duke (145)

S—Anthony Harris, Virginia (142)

S—Jeremy Cash, Duke (129)


PK—Nate Freese, Boston College (124)

P—Pat O’Donnell, Miami (135)

SP—Ryan Switzer, North Carolina (155)



QB—Tajh Boyd, Clemson (132)

RB—Kevin Parks, Virginia (117)

RB—Duke Johnson, Miami (104)

WR—Michael Campanaro, Wake Forest (102)

WR—Allen Hurns, Miami (102)

WR—Tyler Boyd, Pittsburgh (100)

TE—Nick O’Leary, Florida State (126)

OT—Brandon Thomas, Clemson (104)

OT—Matt Patchan, Boston College (92)

OG—Laken Tomlinson, Duke (90)

OG—Brandon Linder, Miami (80)

C—Macky MacPherson, Syracuse (61)


DE—Jeremiah Attaochu, Georgia Tech (121)

DE—Kenny Anunike, Duke (98)

DT—Timmy Jernigan, Florida State (124)

DT—Derrick Hopkins, Virginia Tech (73)

LB—Telvin Smith, Florida State (105)

LB—Jack Tyler, Virginia Tech (93)

LB—Christian Jones, Florida State (83)

CB—Kendall Fuller, Virginia Tech (91)

CB—Bashaud Breeland, Clemson (69)

S—Terrence Brooks, Florida State (97)

S—Tre Boston, North Carolina (86)


PK—Roberto Aguayo, Florida State (123)

P—A.J. Hughes, Virginia Tech (79)

SP—Jamison Crowder, Duke (80)



QB—Stephen Morris, Miami (24)

RB—Roderick McDowell, Clemson (85)

RB—Jerome Smith, Syracuse (53)

WR—Devin Street, Pittsburgh (80)

WR—Alex Amidon, Boston College (70)

WR—Kelvin Benjamin, Florida State (68)

TE—Braxton Deaver, Duke (51)

OT—Perry Simmons, Duke (80)

OT—Morgan Moses, Virginia (76)

OG—Tyler Shatley, Clemson (65)

OG—Josue Matias, Florida State (57)

C—Andy Gallik, Boston College (52)


DE—Kasim Edebali, Boston College (65)

DE—Mario Edwards Jr., Florida State (56)

DT—Jay Bromley, Syracuse (68)

DT—Luther Maddy, Virginia Tech (56)

LB—Steele Divitto, Boston College (78)

LB—Stephone Anthony, Clemson (73)

LB—Spencer Shuey, Clemson (57)

CB—Kyle Fuller, Virginia Tech (58)

CB—Brandon Facyson, Virginia Tech (53)

S—Durell Eskridge, Syracuse (53)

S—Nate Andrews, Florida State (44)


PK—Chandler Catanzaro, Clemson (69)

P—Will Monday, Duke (73)

SP—DeVon Edwards, Duke (57)

*Denotes unanimous first-team pick.