Both USCs — South Carolina and Southern California — will be part of the 2014 Charleston Classic.

Six of the eight schools that will compete in the event, scheduled Nov. 20-23 at TD Arena, were announced Thursday and they include the two teams that played for the 2009 Charleston Classic title.

Miami, which defeated the Gamecocks, 85-70, in the final of the second Charleston Classic, also will be in the field. Penn State also played in the 2009 Charleston Classic, going 1-2. Southern Cal, Akron and Cornell are first-time participants. Teams can compete in the Charleston Classic only once in a four-year period. The final two teams for 2014 will be announced later.

Past champions include Clemson (2008), Miami (2009), Georgetown (2010), Northwestern (2011) and Colorado (2012).