The Goose Creek Gators’ first step in the postseason was a smooth one.

The top-seeded Gators struck hard and fast in the opening half and rolled to a 76-0 victory over 16th-seeded Wade Hampton on Friday in the Division II-AAAA football playoffs.

The point total was one shy of tying the school record, but it’s the largest margin of victory ever for the Gators.

“Obviously, we were the better football team,” Goose Creek coach Chuck Reedy said. “But we didn’t go out there and slop around. Even when we played our subs, they went out there and played well.”

Reedy said more than 100 Gators got some playing time against Wade Hampton.

Omar McRae set the tone for Goose Creek, returning the opening kickoff 90 yards for a touchdown. Less than 10 minutes in, it was 21-0 and the rout was on.

Goose Creek amassed 462 rushing yards, with 10 different players getting at least one carry. Fullback Evan McField had 125 yards on eight carries and scored on an 80-yard scamper in the opening quarter.

Tyrik Johnson and Evan Ulery added 98 and 51 yards, respectively, with each scoring twice. Quarterback Dantez Bennamon ran for 40 yards and a touchdown, and was 4 of 5 through the air for 63 yards, including a 27-yard touchdown pass to Jordan Barnes.

Barnes also hauled in a 10-yard touchdown pass from backup quarterback Dominique Jefferson.

The win was the 38th straight for the Gators (12-0) and puts them in the second round against South Pointe. The Stallions blanked Irmo, 30-0.

“They’ve had a great program up there for a while,” Reedy said. “They’ve won some state championships over the last several years. They’ll be a big challenge.”

Wade Hampton 0 0 0 0—0

Goose Creek 21 28 14 13—76

GC–Omar McRae 90 kickoff return (Alex Jacobus kick)

GC–Tyrik Johnson 4 run (Jacobus kick)

GC–McField 80 run (Jacobus kick)

GC–Darin McNeal 6 run (Jacobus kick)

GC–Dantez Bennamon 8 run (Jacobus kick)

GC–Jordan Barnes 27 pass from Bennamon (Jacobus kick)

GC–Barnes 10 pass from Dominique Jefferson (Jacobus kick)

GC–Johnson 31 run (Jacobus kick)

GC–Evan Ulery 8 run (Jacobus kick)

GC–Ulery 2 run (Jacobus kick)

GC–JC Simuel 2 run (kick failed)