Clemson’s Tajh Boyd and South Carolina’s Connor Shaw are finalists for the prestigious Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award presented each year to college football’s most outstanding quarterback.

Candidates for the Golden Arm Award must be college seniors or fourth-year juniors on schedule to graduate with their class. In addition to the accomplishments on the field, candidates are judged on their character, citizenship, scholastic achievement and leadership qualities.

The 2013 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award will be presented at a ceremony Dec. 13 in Baltimore.

Previous winners of the Golden Arm Award include: Peyton Manning (Tennessee, 1997); Carson Palmer (Southern Cal, 2002); Eli Manning (Ole Miss, 2003); Matt Ryan (Boston College, 2007); Colt McCoy (Texas, 2009); and Andrew Luck (Stanford, 2011). Last year’s winner was Collin Klein of Kanas State.

The 10 finalists for this year’s award are:

Tajh Boyd, Clemson

Connor Shaw, South Carolina

Derek Carr, Fresno State

Taylor Kelly, Arizona State

Jordan Lynch, Northern Illinois

Sean Mannion, Oregon State

AJ McCarron, Alabama

Aaron Murray, Georgia

Keith Price, Washington

Keith Wenning, Ball State