COLUMBIA — All-America baseball shortstop Drew Meyer, a former Bishop England High School star who still holds the SEC record for most base hits in a season with 120 in 2002, is among eight Gamecocks elected to the University of South Carolina’s athletic hall of fame.

Meyer, a first-round draft choice by the Texas Rangers, will be inducted Sept. 12 in The Zone at Williams-Brice Stadium. There will be a reception at 5:30 p.m. followed by the dinner and inductions beginning at 6:30. Tickets are $50 each and will be available beginning Aug. 5 through the USC Athletic Department.

The other members of the 2013 class announced Monday are:

• The late Arlo Elkins, who guided Carolina’s women’s tennis team to 17 consecutive NCAA tournaments, and nineteen overall. Elkins coached the Gamecocks from 1983-2012, with his teams winning 438 matches.

• All-America softball pitcher Megan Matthews, who played from 1998-2002. Matthews won 101 games for Carolina, and led the nation in saves as a true freshman.

• Four-time women’s track All-American Charmaine Howell, who excelled in the 800 meters, finishing as runner at the NCAA indoor and outdoor championships. Howell won a silver medal in the 2000 Olympics in the 4x100 relay.

• Max Runager, outstanding punter for coach Jim Carlen’s teams of the late 1970s, who was voted to Carolina’s all-time team in 1992. Runager punted in the NFL from 1979-1989 for the Eagles, 49ers, and Cleveland Browns.

• Dave DeCamilla, who anchored the offensive line for coach Paul Dietzel’s Gamecocks from 1968-1970. DeCamilla was named first team All-ACC in both 1969 and 1970.

• Chris Boyle, baseball catcher for coach June Raines from 1981-84 who helped lead the Gamecocks to two College World Series appearances. In his career Boyle drove in 198 runs, second only to Justin Smoak’s 207.

• The late Jake Bodkin, who was voted first team All-ACC on coach Warren Giese’s offensive line in 1960, after being named second team in 1959. Bodkin was drafted by the Buffalo Bills.