South Carolina Stingrays goalie Ryan Zapolski has been named the ECHL Goaltender of the Year.

Zapolski, who was named to the ECHL All-Rookie Team and All-ECHL First Team last week and on Monday was named the ECHL Rookie of the Year, is the first rookie to be named the Goaltender of the Year since Alaska’s Jean-Philippe Lamoureux in 2008-09.

He joins Louisiana’s Frederic Cloutier (2001-02), Trenton’s Scott Stirling (2000-01), Hampton Roads’ Jan Lasak (1999-00) and Richmond’s Maxime Gingras (1998-99) as winners of both the Rookie of the Year and Goaltender of the Year in the same season.

The Erie, Penn., native led the ECHL this season with a 1.64 goals-against average, a .942 save percentage and eight shutouts, while finishing tied for second with 27 wins and fifth with 2,378 minutes played. Zapolski set a new ECHL single-season record for lowest goals-against average, while tying the mark for most shutouts in a season and tying the second best save percentage in league history. Zapolski also earned MVP honors at the 2013 ECHL All-Star Game, stopping all 17 shots he faced in the second period of the ECHL All-Star 7-3 win against Colorado.

Zapolski is the second Stingray to be named ECHL Goaltender of the Year behind Todd Ford in 2009-10. Current Stingrays goaltender Jeff Jakaitis won the award last season as a member of the Gwinnett Gladiators.