Players

Family Circle Cup @FamilyCircleCup

Women’s Tennis Association @wta

Serena Williams @serenawilliams

Venus Williams @VenusesWilliams

Sloane Stephens @sloanetweets

Jelena Jankovic @jelena_jankovic

Sabine Lisicki @sabinelisicki

Lisa Raymond @lisaraymond73

Sara Errani @saraerrani

Julia Goerges @juliagoerges

Christina McHale @ChristinaMcHale

Caroline Wozniacki @CaroWozniacki

Post and Courier staff

The Post and Courier @postandcourier

Gene Sapakoff @sapakoff

Jeff Hartsell @Jeff_fromthePC

Phil Bowman @PandCPhil

Andrew Miller @APMILLER_PandC

Tommy Braswell @braswellsports

Use the hashtag #2013FCC to find updates from Daniel Island.

Serena Williams (@serenawilliams) took to Twitter to show her appreciation before the sun set on her 2012 Family Circle Cup singles final victory over Lucie Safarova.

“Thanks everyone for the support this week at the @FamilyCircleCup it was an amazing week. I love u all xx S,” she posted.

Live scoring and expanded web television coverage are great, but Twitter chatter adds to Family Circle Cup fun as players with worldwide appeal reach out.

When Serena tweets, it’s to more than 3.5 million followers.

Venus Williams — aka @Venuseswilliams — has almost 929,000 followers.

Venus celebrated her return to Daniel Island last April, with her cute Havanese dog.

“So happy to be back in Charleston for the first time since 2009! Harold is pretty happy too actually :)”

Lisa Raymond (@lisaraymond73), annually one of the top doubles players on tour, regularly provides photos (tennis, nature, city scenes)

Sabine Lisicki (@sabinelisicki) recently summarized the life of a tennis pro: “Good morning dear jetlag …”

Or, you can get updates on the whereabouts of men’s professional tennis stars.

From: Sloane Stephens (@sloanetweets), “I swear I saw @MardyFish at the gas station this morning!”

Stephens saw her Twitter fan count double over just a few days in January, from 17,000 before her Australian Open quarterfinals upset of Serena Williams to 35,000 after the match.

Shaquille O’Neal (@shaq) offered congrats: “When you defeat a legend, you become a legend. Keep it going.”

Christina McHale (@ChristinaMcHale), another rising American star, describes herself on Twitter as “American tennis player, Yankees fan” And you get photos with McHale tweets, such as the shot of Christina and the legendary Steffi Graf accompanying the “Practiced with Steffi yesterday!” news.

Jelena Jankovic (@jelena_jankovic), the 2007 Family Circle Cup champ, is great with tweet pics, too.

From the Olympics. From a Katy Perry (@katyperry) concert. From Fed Cup play: “We are ready for battle with the Russians!”

Former No. 1 player and 2011 Family Circle Cup champion Caroline Wozniacki (@CaroWozniacki) has 475,000-plus followers. Doubtless, some of those people are monitoring her romance with Rory McIlroy (@Rory Mcilroy).

“Anyone knows which channel they are showing the golf?” she tweeted last August, the day before Rory hit his first Ocean Course shot at the 2012 PGA Championship. McIlroy won, making Caroline and Rory the ultimate Charleston sports power couple.