Walterboro author Marjorie B. Hill will sign copies of her book “Xeno Oaks” 1-3 p.m. Saturday at Coastal Coffee Roasters, 108 E. 3rd North St., Summerville.

Susan Laughter Meyers has won the 2013 Nickens Fellowship in poetry, and Thomas McConnell is the recipient of the 2013 Fiction Fellowship, both awarded by the S.C. Academy of Authors.

Meyers’ poetry was selected from 43 submissions.

Meyers of Givhans is the author of “My Dear, Dear Stagger Grass,” which received the inaugural Cider Press Review Editor’s Prize and is scheduled for release this fall. Her book, “Keep and Give Away,” published by University of South Carolina Press, received the S.C. Poetry Book Prize.

McConnell of Spartanburg entered his story, “How We Live Now,” which was selected from 25 submissions as the winner by this year’s fiction judge, Florida novelist Mary Robinson.

The fellowships come with a $1,000 prize, presented at a special brunch held in conjunction with the academy’s annual induction ceremony. This year’s gathering will be April 26-28 in Columbia, and Jack Bass, Nikky Finney, Terrance Hayes and Eugene Robinson will be inducted into the state’s literary hall of fame.

The submission period for the 2014 Nickens Fellowship will open in the fall. See