Academic Magnet High School backers plan to establish nonprofit foundation to help support its programs

Supporters of Charleston County's top magnet high school are working to establish a nonprofit foundation to address its funding needs and expand electives.

A board of 10 directors are seeking approval to operate a nonprofit for the benefit of Academic Magnet High. The foundation would solicit community donations and grants for the North Charleston school's short- and long-term goals.

“I am delighted that the Academic Magnet community is both supportive of our current programming and committed to enhance our educational offerings by establishing the Academic Magnet Foundation,” said school Principal Judith Peterson.

Members of the inaugural board include: Doug Berger, Stephen Howe, Susan Leadem, James Rawls, Ken Ryan, Hallie Seibels, Lisa Short, Scott Shubert, Jennie Smith and Cliff Woods.

A number of Charleston County schools, such as Buist Academy and Sullivan's Island Elementary, have foundations to support their work.

Get the latest education news by following @Diette on Twitter or go to

Comments { } is pleased to offer readers the enhanced ability to comment on stories. We expect our readers to engage in lively, yet civil discourse. does not edit user submitted statements and we cannot promise that readers will not occasionally find offensive or inaccurate comments posted in the comments area. Responsibility for the statements posted lies with the person submitting the comment, not If you find a comment that is objectionable, please click "report abuse" and we will review it for possible removal. Please be reminded, however, that in accordance with our Terms of Use and federal law, we are under no obligation to remove any third party comments posted on our website. Read our full Terms and Conditions.