The 2013 North-South Wrestling Classic, celebrating its 25th year, is Thursday through Saturday at North Myrtle Beach High School.

Local athletes selected to the South Class AAA/AA team include: J.J. Johnson, Hanahan; Label Lewis, Hilton Head; Dennis Flores, Hanahan; Arthur Freeman, St. John's; and Malcolm Nazon, Bishop England.

Local wrestlers picked for the Class AAAA/A team are Albert Ednilao, Cane Bay; Dakota Dahabi, Wando; Gavin Perkins, Summerville; Nicholas Young, Stratford; Daquan Buksha, Fort Dorchester; Austin Ziliak, Fort Dorchester; Trey Arant, Beaufort; Zach Armstrong, Ashley Ridge; Noah Shuler, Stratford; Codrian Smalls, Beaufort; Clint Wright, Beaufort; and Tyler Wilson, Beaufort.

Summerville's Darryl Tucker is the coach for the South team.

In other wrestling news, Hanahan's Flores, wrestling at 170 pounds, was named the Class AAA Most Outstanding Wrestler at the individual state meet. Beaufort's Wright (190) was the Class AAAA Most Outstanding wrestler. Josh McDermett of Academic Magnet was the Class AA-A Most Outstanding Wrestler. He competed in the 126-pound division and helped the Raptors win the Region 6-AA title.

Gators honored

Approximately 1,500 people turned out to honor the 2012 Goose Creek football team Monday night at the school's gym.

The Gators seemed to be a lock for their second straight Division II-AAAA state championship but were bounced from the playoffs for using an ineligible player.

“It far exceeded our expectations,” Goose Creek football coach Chuck Reedy said of the Monday night event. “It was a good way to honor the team one last time.”

Every player was in attendance except for running back/wide receiver Tramel Terry, who has already enrolled at the University of Georgia. He spoke to the crowd via speakerphone.

Every player and coach received a ring.

Region 6-A basketball

Dashona Magwood of Baptist Hill is the Region 6-A girls basketball player of the year.

Cross had four players make the all-star team: Shanyra Libson, Marchaeya Gilliard, Zelphair Grant and Jayla Ravenell.

Baptist Hill's selections include Dashona Magwood, Jerika Magwood and LaQuanta Drayton.

St. John's picks were LeSha Mitchell and Rebekah Jones.

Tiffany Holmes, Military Magnet; Niasia McKenzie, Lincoln; and Kiley Bennette of Charleston Charter round out the team.

Calvin Davis of Cross was named coach of the year.

Attention coaches

Spring sports coaches are asked to call in or email their results as soon as possible to ensure the scores are reported in the next day's edition of The Post and Courier.

Scores can be called in at (843) 937-5586 or (800) 209-2609. The email address is

Athletic directors or coaches are asked to email spring sports schedules to

Follow Philip M. Bowman on Twitter: @PandCPhil.