The Charleston Police Department named Sgt. David Osborne as its police officer of the year during the agency’s annual award ceremony today.

Also honored were: Louis Stewart, probationary police officer of the year; Violent Crime Unit, team of the year; Nikki Mitchell, forensic technician of the year; Monica Bland, dispatcher of the year; Sgt. Jeffrey Aldana, citizen of the year; Sonia Greene, civilian of the year; Evelyn Grant, fleet service techician of the year; Kermit Jenkins, volunteer of the year; Pressley Sports, community service officer of the year.