Five educators named finalists for Charleston County School District’s top honor

  • Posted: Friday, February 1, 2013 4:20 p.m.

The competition for Teacher of the Year in Charleston County schools has been narrowed down to five finalists announced this week.

The five educators being considered for the district’s top teaching honor are: Angie Grimes of Morningside Middle; Kirk Lindgren of School of the Arts; Paul Pallagi of Ladson Elementary; Lisa Trott of Ashley River Elementary; and Melissa Yarbrough of St. Andrews School of Math and Science.

“We are so fortunate to have to so many great teachers, so to be recognized as five stand-outs among such a great field is incredible,” said Charleston County Superintendent Nancy McGinley.

The winner will be announced at a Charleston Riverdogs game on May 10.

Read more in an upcoming edition of The Post and Courier, and get the latest education news by following @Diette on Twitter or go to

Comments { } is pleased to offer readers the enhanced ability to comment on stories. We expect our readers to engage in lively, yet civil discourse. does not edit user submitted statements and we cannot promise that readers will not occasionally find offensive or inaccurate comments posted in the comments area. Responsibility for the statements posted lies with the person submitting the comment, not If you find a comment that is objectionable, please click "report abuse" and we will review it for possible removal. Please be reminded, however, that in accordance with our Terms of Use and federal law, we are under no obligation to remove any third party comments posted on our website. Read our full Terms and Conditions.