Kelli Murphy of Elgin won her second Picard Junior golf title during the 19th annual Ford-Picard Christmas Classic played at the Links Course at Wild Dunes Resort. Murphy, who previously won the South Carolina Junior Golf Association event in 2010, shot 38-38—76 to win the girls’ 13-18 title by eight shots over Kylie Nizolek of Bluffton.

Justin Hood of St. Matthews won the overall boys title and the 15-18 age division with a score of 77. Wilson Yearout of Mount Pleasant finished fourth at 83 in the 15-18 age division and Bradley Lipsmeyer of Mount Pleasant tied for fifth with an 86.

Drayton Stewart of Charleston shot 44 and beat John Flintom of St. Mathews by a stroke in the boys’ 10-12 age group. Jay Westmoreland of Mount Pleasant finished third in the boys’ 13-14 age group.

Stuart Gibbs III and Wynn Gibbs of Greenville shot 73 to finish first in the Ford Parent-Child Championship. Treg and Savannah Hallman of Mount Pleasant shot 75 and finished second by a stroke to Harry and Jennings Huntley of Columbia in Division II.

SCGA announces awards

The South Carolina Golf Association has announced its award winners for 2012. The Carolinas Golf Association will receive the Tom Fazio Service to Golf Award. Rick Miller of Pawleys Island will receive the Charlie Drawdy Distinguished Service Award presented to special efforts by a volunteer. The Members Club at Woodcreek and WildeWood in Columbia is the club of the year. Todd White, who now lives in Hilton Head, will be honored as the Player of the Year, the third time he has earned the honor. Rick Cloninger of Fort Mill is the Senior Player of the Year.



Andy Warren, Snee Farm Country Club, No. 7, 128 yards, 8-iron. Witnesses: Robert Hoover, Woody Keels.


Lewis F. Bowen Sr., Shadowmoss Plantation Golf Club, No. 4, 115 yards, pitching wedge. Witnesses: Bob Bowen, Bob Dandridge, Richard Rourk Sr.

A hole-in-one should be reported in a timely manner by the golf course. To report a hole-in-one, contact Tommy Braswell at (843) 937-5591, fax (843) 937-5579 or email