No chairman selected for S.C. State University’s board

ORANGEBURG — South Carolina State University’s board was supposed to vote today on who would be chairman because two members now claim to hold the post.

But the board was unable to vote because only five of the 11 members dialed in for the teleconference meeting. To hold a public meeting, the majority of members must attend.

Board members Walter Tobin and Patricia Lott claim to hold the position of chairman. Each of them won in an election, but the board’s attorney has said that both of the elections were illegal under the board’s bylaws.

Board members Lott, John Corbitt, Linda Edwards Duncan, Tony Grant and Robert Nance called in to the meeting.

Tobin, Maurice Washington, Robert Waldrep, Gail Joyner-Fleming, Jonathan Pinson and Dennis Nielsen did not call in for the meeting.

Read more in future editions of The Post and Courier. Reach Diane Knich at 937-5491 or on Twitter @dianeknich.

Comments { } is pleased to offer readers the enhanced ability to comment on stories. We expect our readers to engage in lively, yet civil discourse. does not edit user submitted statements and we cannot promise that readers will not occasionally find offensive or inaccurate comments posted in the comments area. Responsibility for the statements posted lies with the person submitting the comment, not If you find a comment that is objectionable, please click "report abuse" and we will review it for possible removal. Please be reminded, however, that in accordance with our Terms of Use and federal law, we are under no obligation to remove any third party comments posted on our website. Read our full Terms and Conditions.