OMAHA, Neb. ó Arizona on Monday continued its impressive athletic success by beating South Carolina to win the College World Series.

This is Arizonaís 18th national title in school history and fourth in baseball (1976, 1980 and 1986). Arizona has also won national titles in softball (eight), menís basketball (one), menís golf (one), womenís golf (one), menís swimming and diving (one) and womenís swimming and diving (one)

Arizonaís four baseball national titles rank fifth all-time among Division I baseball programs, tying Cal State Fullerton and Miami. Only Southern California (12), LSU (six), Texas (six) and Arizona State (six) have won more titles than the Wildcats.

Arizonaís MCWS title is the 16th for the Pac-12, a total which leads all conferences, and the first since Oregon State won in 2007.

Wildcats coach Andy Lopez became only the second coach to win a Division I baseball national title at two different schools (Pepperdine, 1992). Augie Garrido is the only other coach to accomplish the feat, winning with Cal State Fullerton in 1979, 1984 and 1995 and with Texas in 2002 and 2005.

Impressive streak over USCís 5-1 loss to Arizona on Sunday, in Game 1 of the finals, marked the first time since 2004 that the Gamecocks allowed more than four runs in a College World Series game ó a streak of 19 games. It was the second-longest such streak in World Series history, behind Arizona State (22 games from 1965-73).

Both streaks were recipes for success in Omaha. USC, of course, won the 2010 and 2011 national titles. Arizona State won the national title in 1965, 1967 and 1969 and lost in the championship game in 1972 and 1973.

This and that South Carolina posted a .181 batting average (33-for-181) over the past six games, during which the team scored just 12 runs. Ö But the Gamecocks were still the first team to play in the championship game/series in three straight years since Texas from 1983-85. Ö South Carolina allowed a run or fewer in five separate games during the 2012 NCAA tournament. Only three teams have ever held an opponent to a run or fewer six different times during one tournament: Cal State Fullerton in 2004 (six games), Miami in 1974 (six) and Arizona State in 1972 (seven).