The first presentation of the newly established Patriotic Service Award of the South Carolina Society of the Order of the Founders and Patriots of America recently took place during a gala evening at the Carolina Yacht Club in Charleston.

The initial honoree was the Veterans' Victory House of Walterboro, which was recognized for helping U.S. veterans. Accepting the award was Executive Director LeeAnne Newton.

Presenting the award were the society's governor, Capers W. McDonald of Pawleys Island, and the founding chairman of the society's patriotic service award committee, Lawrence A. "Sandy" Savage Jr. of Edisto Island. Participating in the celebration was the national governor general of the order, Dr. Thomas M. Leland of Charleston, who also was the founding governor of the South Carolina Society.