Filing for Mount Pleasant elections ended at noon Monday with five candidates for mayor and eight running for four council seats, according to the Charleston County Election Commission.

Mayor Billy Swails is not running for re-election. Vying for his seat are council members Linda Page and Ken Glasson, former Councilman Joe Bustos, community activist George Freeman and political newcomer Carl Carroll Jr.

The candidates for the at-large council seats are incumbent Elton Carrier, former council members Gary Santos and Paul Gawrych, Anthony Kowbeidu, Ben Bryson, Timm Gipe, Joseph Wren and Mark Smith.

Running for two Mount Pleasant Waterworks seats are Alyssondra Campaign, Dolph Rodenberg, John Burn and Rick Crosby.

Filing for Charleston City Council elections ended at 5 p.m. Monday. The final list of candidates is not expected to be available until Tuesday morning.