Some state lawmakers who said they were tired of the upheaval and fighting among members of South Carolina University’s Board of Trustees followed through with their plan to remove all incumbents up for re-election.

The General Assembly today voted on who would fill open seats on college and university boards,

The winners in today’s election were:

William Small, Yemassee, 6th Congressional district

Ronald Henegan, Bennetsville, 7th Congressional district

Pearl Ascue, Awendaw, at-large seat 9

Cathy Novinger, West Columbia, at-large seat 11

Katon Dawson, Columbia, at-large seat 12

Notably among those not re-elected was trustee Maurice Washington, who served on the board of the state’s only public historically black university for 12 years.

Current board chairman Walter Tobin also failed to land another term.

And incumbent Linda Edwards Duncan, of Gaffney, who ran unopposed, failed to hold her seat. She did not have enough votes to win, so the 5th Congressional district seat remains open.

Read more in tomorrow’s editions of The Post and Courier. Reach Diane Knich at 937-5491 or on Twitter @dianeknich.